Clothing Writings in Ellen Glasgow’s Three Novels毕业论文_英语毕业论文

Clothing Writings in Ellen Glasgow’s Three Novels毕业论文


摘 要




  1. Introduction 1
  2. Demonstration 3

    1. Dress Writings in The Sheltered Life 3.

      1. A Brief Introduction to The Sheltered Life 3
      2. Dress Writings of Eva Birdsong 3
      3. Significance of Dress Writings of Eva Birdsong 4
    2. Dress Writings in Virginia 5

      1. A Brief Introduction to Virginia 5
      2. Dress Writings of Virginia 5
      3. Significance of Dress Writings of Virginia 6
    3. Dress Writings in Barren Ground 7

      1. A Brief Introduction to Barren Ground 7
      2. Dress Writings of Dorinda Oakley 7
      3. Significance of Dress Writings of Dorinda Oakley 9
  3. Conclusion 10

Works Cited 11

Bibliography 12

Dress Writings in Ellen Glasgowrsquo;s Three Novels


Ellen Glasgow is a representative female writer of the American southern Renaissance. She was born in a Calvinist Scottish immigrant family, in Richmond, Virginia, on April 22, 1874. This is a time when the American south was in the midst of post-war reconstruction, and the old south was rapidly transforming into the new south. From 1920s to 1950s, the American south experienced a historic Renaissance, which had a profound impact. In this period, a large number of great writers played an important role in the history of literature. Such as William Faulkner, Zora Neale Hurston, Eudora Welty. However, even Glasgow has published more than twenty novels, she doesnrsquo;t get enough attention. There are few studies on her in China, and there is no even a translation of her novel in China.

In 1897, Glasgow published her first novel, The Descendant, after that, she published The Battle Ground (1902), The Romance of A Plain Man (1909), and The Miller of Old Church (1911), etc. These novels presented the daily life and historical changes of the American southern society. From 1920s to 1930s, Glasgow published such works as Barren Ground, The Sheltered Life, Vein of Iron, and began to focus on southern women#39;s writing. In the 1940s, Glasgow published In This Our Life, which was subsequently made into a film by Warner Bros and won the Pulitzer Prize for literature in 1942. This marked the peak of Glasgow#39;s writing career. Elizabeth Ammons has divided Glasgow#39;s work into three stages. Glasgowrsquo;s early works, she says, has created a number of female images, but the heroes are basically male (Ammons 115-116). In 1913, Virginia was published. In this book, it was the first time that women were regarded as the main character of the novel, marking the second stage of Glasgowrsquo;s creation. In the 1920s, when Glasgow was in her fifties, she suffered from the dissolution of her marriage to her husband, Anderson, and the untimely death of her sister. These inspired her, she put her experience and needs as a woman into the books, and in this stage, she had written her best works such as Barren Ground and Vein of


以上是资料介绍,完整资料请联系客服购买,微信号:bysjorg 、QQ号:3236353895


  • 还没有任何群聊信息,你来说两句吧
  • 发表评论